The Beginning

Standard

I was diagnosed with RA early summer of 2013.  I had a bad flare on my left hand that put me in the hospital because they had no clue what it was, they almost did surgery on it!  A week after the hospital I started feeling this stabbing pain in my right foot, I looked one day and it was swollen, red, yellow and hurt like hell.  I made an appt with primary and she was like WOW, look at that foot and I’m like yeah what is wrong with me!!  So she put me on 40 mg’s of prednisone and referred me right away to a Rheumatologist. After 22 tests it was confirmed that I indeed had moderate to severe RA.  I went through 3 oral medications that did nothing but make me sick and hurt my liver.  I have been on 3 biologics as injections, nothing has worked.  I go in on the 17th for my first infusion of Actemra.  I hope it works.  I’m in some pain as I write this now, my hands, wrists, palms, elbows and feet knees and toes knees and toes! ha j/k you see you HAVE to have a sense of humor if you have this disease because not only does it affect your joints, it kills your immune system and then every single damn drug that can take kills it as well, so you’re always sick and nobody understands you, unless of course you happen to find a friend that has it as well.  Sometimes even then it’s hard.  My family doesn’t care about what I go through, if my mom were here I know she would be there for me.  She died of Pancreatic Cancer 7 years ago June 18 2007.  The thing that keeps me going  is my dog Tucker, he is my salvation, the only one who will never be mad at me or disappointed.  He always greets me a happy face and a wagging tail.

 

Below are pictures of my very first flares oh how I miss those day! ha, not.ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

