Exercise helps Rheumatoid Arthritis-common misconseption

Standard

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told by friends or family, you just need to exercise more, that helps.  First of all when did they become my RA Dr?  My RA Doc even said exercise is good for your body, yes, however, it may feel good at the time but you will probably pay for it afterwards, which is totally true. I’ve walked my dog Tucker, 4 days in a row now.  My joints can feel it, not just my knees and ankles, even my hands from holding the leash, people without RA don’t realize how many joints you actually have in your body and that RA doesn’t just affect your joints.

My dog is happy that’s for sure and yes I like to get out of the house, I just hate keeping the narcotic companies in business.  I try hard not to take my pain meds unless it gets bad but why wait and suffer.  I may go a few days without taking them but I usually take one at night so that I can sleep through because for some reason as soon as I lay down my body starts talking.

So for me and a lot of RA patients that I know, exercise does not help, just in case you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

