Ongoing struggles

It just boggles my foggy mind how some people who are suppose to be your built in support system are so ignorant to your disease but more worried about how they feel about.  You’re not living with the disease, support your friend, sister, daughter, mother or whoever it is that has any kind of chronic illness.  It’s not for the weak, the strongest people I know are those who have suffered something be it an illness short, permanent or terminal.  You may be weak feeling in your brain but there is still a strong part inside of you that makes you put that foot infront of the the other, twist the cap of your toothpaste.

I personally do not have much support, I actually have 1 uno friend that supports me leaps and bounds and has validated me without even her knowing.  Why is it so hard for people to validate someone else’s feelings or illness?  People are so stuck on how it makes them feel that they lose sight of the person that is actually living with it.  RA is not fun, it’s not going to go away, it’s with you forever and patients with it will probably die from complication of it unless there is some new miracle drug in the future.  It’s like having cancer for your entire life.  I don’t know what it’s like to have cancer but my mom did die from Pancreatic Cancer, I can’t say that I know how she felt because I didn’t, however, I was there for her every step of the way, I didn’t say poor me, I cried a lot at dr. appts and chemo appts but when it came to take care of her in hospice, I was rock solid, how could you not be for your mom or any loved one. How can you not support a person you care about who is going through something to unbelievably painful, depressing and stress for the rest of your natural life.

I will never deny someone who is suffering or in need.  I may not have much but I have a heart and it’s bigger than it should be because it’s been broken a million times but I keep it open for reason.

If you come across someone in your life, which I’m sure you will, that is struggling because of their health or whatever it may be, give them your attention, give them empathy and validation, that’s so simple to do yet so hard for so many.  Human beings are suppose to be compassionate, even my dog knows when I’m struggling, he comes and gives me lovin’.

I guess my message for today is to just be human.

Author: Dawn Angelique

I'm 47 year old lesbian living in a body that doesn't like me. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, Fibro, Diabetes, Bipolar, Anxiety Disorder, PTSD, Hypertension, HBP, High Cholesterol. and neurapothy. But through all of this, I'm finally learning to live, even if it's just for moments.

Leave a Reply

