Off the RA topic for one

I also have diabetes and have been working really hard to not eat potato’s or rice and any kind of sweets, I actually can’t eat certain foods any more, my favorite cereal, peanut butter captain crunch!

 I will treat myself once and a while with potato’s but rice is out.  So my NP and I have been working with my long acting insulin, Lantus and my short acting insulin, Novolog to try and get me off the novolog.  I sent her my weeks worth of Blood Sugar Readings yesterday and I got this reply today:

“Yipee! You are successfully off the novolog. You can stay off that for now. Keep taking the lantus 18 units once a day. If you start having any lows (aside from lows from NOT EATING) then let me know and we can back off on the lantus. Looks like great control though”

My NP is probably one of the best relationships I have right now other than one wonderful friend.  It meant mountains to me to get this email, it validates my efforts, I only lost 5 pounds eating better but  at least I don’t have to poke my stomach 3 extra times a day. 

I wish everyone could have the NP that I have.  She is amazing, I’ve had her for about 3 years now, she has been, as she says, my “off the books therapist”, The NOT EATING refers to me telling her I pretty much skip dinner which is why my sugars are low sometimes in the morning.

Anyway I’m proud of myself and I don’t say that often, I’ve had a shitty day with all this neck and shoulder pain that this little email, made my day.

Every failure brings with it the seed of an equivalent success. – Napoleon Hill

Author: Dawn Angelique

I'm 47 year old lesbian living in a body that doesn't like me. I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, Fibro, Diabetes, Bipolar, Anxiety Disorder, PTSD, Hypertension, HBP, High Cholesterol. and neurapothy. But through all of this, I'm finally learning to live, even if it's just for moments.

Leave a Reply

