2 plus years later

Standard

Wow so I haven’t written for a very long time.  The last post was about Rituxan, my 4th one.  Well the 5th went fine, the 6th was a nightmare, I woke up in the middle of the night with my kidney pounding out of back.  Turned out the Rituxan triggered a kidney infection that made it worse because of it and my immune system.  Now the 7th and what turned out to be the last, now that was so much fun, my body is so strange when it comes to medications.  It will like it for years then all the sudden decide, no thank you.  Well when I was finishing up my infusion 7 hours worth, I could tell I was feeling weird but said nothing because I wanted to get the heck out of there, so I ended up having to drop something off at my normal clinic, I could barely speak, my face was red, my arms were red, the receptionist called my NP to the front and she pretty much dragged me in the back and gave me an EPI pen injection, major allergic reaction/shock. So no more rituxan.

I’m on 2 oral medications that seem to be working well together, plaquenal and sulfasalzadine.  Been on it for a year I think, maybe more, I don’t remember.

My hands are still bad, it hurts to type all the time but I am used to it, I’m used to all the pain I have, sorta sad in one sense.  But I’m not as freaked out by it anymore.  The other day I snapped my fingers on my right hand, only to dislocate my middle finger, I popped it back, hurt like hell, ended up going in, they injected my knuckle with some numbing agent.  I see a hand surgeon in maybe 2 weeks I think, my RA doc wanted me to go months ago but I didn’t.  I figured it can’t hurt.

I belong to a RA FB group that I recently have been not even checking in on it, I think when you are submerged in this pain and others pain it keeps your mind on that, so I made a conscious decision to no longer pay attention to the feed and to only deal with my own RA issues.  It’s felt much more healthy for me.

 

Leave a Reply

